top of page

14 Yoga Poses to Balance a Chakra

Updated: Oct 14, 2022

Chakras are a fundamental part of the human makeup and help regulate everything from mood to attitude and feelings. According to yogic philosophy, chakras refer to centralized locations where subtle energy channels, known as nadis, converge. Many yoga systems consider there to be seven main chakras in human body. They are said to run along the length of the spine, from the pelvic floor to the crown of the head. This article will provide you a guided information on 14 yoga poses (2 asana for each of them) to regulate and balance the chakra flow.

Why open or close chakras?

First off, you cannot do any of these things. You may block ,unblock or regulate one and that’s about all. Everyone has chakras that are at least somewhat open. They are not necessarily Yoga practitioners either. The human body is made to work together and will do its best in spite of you. Physically working out the specific areas with no knowledge of chakras will also help regulate your chakra flow. A balanced energy flow through the chakras is necessary for a happy and carefree life.

Do I meditate?

Meditation is the best way to regulate your chakras. It will take lots of practice with the asanas before you are comfortable enough to meditate in them. However, just regular meditative poses work as well. You can visualize colors, concentrate on the mantra, and most importantly, think about the chakra you’re working on. As a beginner, focus on one chakra at a time. Regulated chakra flow will affect your outlook, mood and feelings before anything else. Look for the changes there.

What do the colors signify?

Seeing certain colors triggers physiological changes and also mood changes. Science has proved this time and again. Brain waves are influenced, and more importantly the hypothalamus and the pituitary are active. These two things together control :-

  1. Water regulation

  2. Sleeping and behavioral patterns

  3. The balance of the autonomic nervous system

  4. Sexual and reproductive functions

  5. Metabolism

  6. Appetite

  7. Body temperature

Just colors. Visualizing color during meditation will arouse all the associated feelings and allow you to explore them. Each chakra has an associated color, and focusing on this will allow you to focus on the chakra better.

Why chant?

Each chakra has a certain vibrational frequency attached to it. So does each associated mantra. Try to resonate all the syllables of the associated mantra. Its not about volume, but intonation. Feel the vibration in your throat of each syllable of the chants. Feel how they vibrate differently. Focus on that.

Why do poses?

Poses are articulations of the human body in which you either stress or release organs, muscles and tissues. All parts of your body are controlled by the brain, the physical and the metaphysical. Poses are our way to activate and tell the brain to concentrate on certain parts. Poses that stretch or “open” certain areas, allow a closer relationship of the mind muscle connection and guide our meditation better.

The Poses

A single chakra can be affected by many different poses. The main thing is to concentrate on the chakra you are trying to influence. That being said, certain poses work better than others. Provided below are some of many examples of 14 yoga poses to balance chakra.

Root chakra Yoga Poses

Root Chakra yoga poses

Sacral Chakra Yoga Poses

Sacral Chakra yoga poses

Solar Plexus Chakra Yoga Poses

Solar Plexus yoga poses

Heart Chakra Yoga Poses

Heart chakra yoga poses

Throat Chakra Yoga Poses

Throat chakra yoga poses

Third Eye Chakra Yoga Poses

Thrid Eye Chakra yoga poses

Crown Chakra Yoga Poses

Crown Chakra yoga poses

These poses will work on stretching the areas associated with each chakra allowing full blood and energy flow in that area. You may not be able to flex your chakras but you can flex your spine. It’s a good step to start there and just think about the chakras first.

Pro Tip: If you are having trouble visualizing colors, just think of standing in a painted room. All the light fixtures emit the same color as the wall.

*We REALLY recommend reading the concept of chakras post( linked below) for a basic primer about chakras and learning the associated mantras and colors with each.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page